Newmont Announces Analyst Day and Operating Results Webcast

02/04/2008

DENVER, February 4, 2008 – Newmont Mining Corporation (NYSE: NEM) announced it will host an analyst day to discuss 2007 operating and reserve results, as well as the Company's 2008 operating outlook, on Friday, February 8, 2008. The 2008 Analyst Day will be simultaneously carried on the Company's web site at www.newmont.com beginning at 10:00 a.m. Eastern Time (8:00 a.m. Mountain Time) under Investor Information/Presentations and will be archived there for a limited time.

The Company will issue a corresponding press release with this information on Thursday, February 7, 2008.

The Company will report 2007 fourth quarter and year-end financial results on Thursday, February 21, 2008. A conference call will be held that day at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Time (2:00 p.m. Mountain Time) and it also will be carried on the Company's web site.

# # #

Investor Contact:
John Seaberg
Phone: 303-837-5743
Email: john.seaberg@newmont.com

Media Contact:
Omar Jabara
Phone: 303-837-5114
Email: omar.jabara@newmont.com

SOURCE Newmont Mining Corporation